Magic of Music End of the Year party

Our Magic of Music recital was on May 14th and went well.  This year for my performance I decided to do a “magic trick” and had a student pick 4 letters out my top hat where I created an improvisation starting with those letters and developing a piece.  It seemed to go very well.  This was the first time that I have ever done anything like that in front of an audience.  If you would have asked me even 5 years ago to do that in front of people I would have told you, that you were crazy!  But like many presenters that I have seen have said, the more you do it, the more you will enjoy it and it becomes less scary.  And I have to say they are right!  I haven’t had the chance to view the video yet (will post it at a later time) but I had several mom’s tell me later that it was so beautiful that they wanted to cry.  I had another one ask me if I really was improvising because her husband thought that I probably created something from existing pieces that I knew.  I assured her that I really was improvising at the top of my head.

To complete our Magic of Music program this year I decided to have a little extra fun and hired a magician to entertain us.  I had my friend, Vanessa make the cupcakes for me.  We had a great time.  Here are a few pictures from the recital, our party and a video to enjoy as well.

Click Magic of Music Party to view a magic trick from the party.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 thoughts on “Magic of Music End of the Year party

  1. Jennifer — looks like a fun recital and party. The cupcakes look yummy as well!! I need to get more creative with themes for my recitals. The spring recital has usually been more traditional over the years — with theme programs during the year.

    What part of Arizona are you located? I have a beginner student who is moving there this summer. You can contact me directly at my email address.

Leave a Reply

