1st Giveaway!

Today is FPSResources blog 1st Anniversary!  Hard to believe one year ago this blog was born.  How time flies!

In celebration, I would like to hold my very first giveaway!  I will be giving away your choice between the Magic of Music Incentive program or the Nutcracker Christmas Camp.

Here’s what a teacher recently said about the Magic of Music program:  “My students were very motivated by the program. You did such a great job putting the program together. They liked the notebook and the fact that everything was altogether.  They new exactly how many points they had earned.  The bonus tricks were very motivating. They liked earning points and moving to the different levels.  I had prizes for them at each level.  They have already been asking me what we will be doing this school year.”

Here’s what a teacher said about the Nutcracker Christmas camp (she is planning on doing it this year):  “What a terrific resource this is!”

How to Enter: Leave a comment on something new you are doing in your studio this year.  Mention this giveaway on your blog, Facebook or Twitter and earn another entry.  Be sure to come back and make an additional comment of where you posted about the giveaway.  I will be using a random number generator to choose the winner.

Entry Deadline Date: All entries for this giveaway must be received on or before Friday, August 12th  to be eligible to win.

Winner Selection and Notification: A winning number will be generated using Random.org shortly after the Entry Deadline Date.  The winner will be announced on this blog on Saturday, August 13th.

Claiming Your Prize: Winner must respond within three (3) days of notification or forfeit the prize, in which case an alternate winner will be selected.  Your prize will be emailed to you via a pdf file.

GOOD LUCK!

***Don’t forget the last chance sale expires this Sunday, August 7th!

30 thoughts on “1st Giveaway!

  1. I am just starting my private studio so there will be lots of changes. I follow your blog regularly and love the stuff you share.

    Kristin

  2. In my studio now: gearing up for back-to-school, trying to figure out if I can teach piano to my own children, putting together a collection of short games to do off-bench at a moment’s notice

  3. For the summer, I’ve been teaching my students about composers and stylistic elements of the different periods of music. During labtime they listen to various radio programs on the Classics for Kids Websites. At group lessons they perform songs for each other that represents the period we are focusing on and play composer related games.

  4. Hi Jennifer, I love your blog! What’s new this year–moving to 40 minutes as a minimum for lessons–no more 1/2 hour lessons.
    Please enter me in your giveaway. Congratulations on your blog anniversary!

  5. In my studio this year, my students will be working on more consistent and worth-while practicing. They are using Anne Crosby’s technique activities which I highly recommend. Students enjoy the approach so far. Joan S.’s Piano Studio

  6. I’m using the Song Sundae memorization incentive this year for the first time. I got the idea from the Piano Adventures Teacher Forum…really looking forward to using it!

  7. I am working on adding even more games to my studio this year. I also am trying to expand my lessons to include more young students (4 and 5 year olds).
    wmmahaney(at)Att(dot)net

  8. Jennifer, I enjoy reading your blog and learning from your ideas. This year I’m trying to set up a computer lab. I’ve wanted to do it for some time, but have never had time to put it all together. I am working on readying it for fall.

  9. Jennifer,
    I appreciate your willingness to share your creativity! As for something new in my studio this year….There are lot’s of newbies but the area i really want to focus on with all of my students is ear training. I am still in the process of choosing “how” I’m going to implement it successfully. I have 3 weeks to figure it out before I start lessons again. :o)

  10. Hi Jennifer! Thanks for sharing all your ideas with us on your blog and hosting this giveaway. Something new I’m doing this year is having a year long theme–“America, the Beautiful.” We’ll start out with a map of the U.S. on my bulletin board. Students can put a push pin on locations they visited this summer. I may have them bring in photos to post, also. We’ll be focusing all year on American music and composers as well as on composers who visited the U.S. and were affected by American music (e.g.Dvorak). We’ll add a contrasting color pushpins for these composers to our map. Our spring recital will reflect this year’s theme and feature music of the aforementioned. Of course our decor will be red white and blue! 🙂

  11. Congratulations on your one year milestone.

    This year my students will be completing a kind of practice journal that not only shows the days practiced but also the days NOT practiced and the REASONS WHY. 🙂

  12. I am going to do more focus on composers and their history. I’m also thinking of doing some kind of “adventure” through the fall time that gets them motivated to keep on going – possibly an Amazing Race type theme.

    • Hi Jennifer,

      I am starting an achievement award program for my students. They will be working on various goals all year to earn a trophy at the spring recital. Group lesson and ice cream sundae night this Monday to introduce this new motivational tool.

      Your programs both sound COOL!

  13. I am revamping my studio and either of these would be a perfect addition. I am always looking for new and improved ways of doing things. Crossing my fingers!

  14. Hey Jennifer. One year down, many to go!

    For the summer I upgraded my “Ear Tune of the Week” to “Ear tune arrangement”. Before, I just asked them to figure out how to play a given familiar tune using only their ear. Pecking it out until they could play it successfully. (London Bridge, Twinkle, Allouette, etc.) That is the Ear Tune of the Week.

    Just recently I assigned students the task of playing a simple ear tune AND adding other notes to “make it more interesting”. Many successes. I am hoping it will build some simple arranging skills and increase students’ love of piano playing!

  15. Congratulations on your first anniversary! In my studio this year we are having an attempt at group lessons 3 times during the year, so that times when I ordinarily would not have lessons I now will. The lessons are going to be for all my students – a drum circle so we can work on rhythm. I think that will be SO fun. The younger kids are so looking forward to doing something with the older kids! What fun!

    Christy Kimball

  16. Thanks for sharing your wonderful ideas on your blog!

    My students have always been encouraged to memorize special pieces, but this year each student is going to develop a “AAA” list of memorized pieces he/she can play “Anywhere, at Any Time, for Anyone!” We’ll start the year pulling together their lists, and then we’ll start each lesson with the student playing one of his AAA pieces.

Leave a Reply

