Tech Tuesday: KinderBach App Review and Giveaway!

I’m really excited about today’s app review and giveaway! I’m sure many of you have heard of KinderBach. For those who might not be familiar, KinderBach is an early childhood music program for children ages 3-7 years old. Lessons are taught through a video format that was created by Karri Gregor. A little background about KinderBach that I thought was interesting. Karri was a full time piano teacher and decided to tape her group lessons so when a student was sick or missed, they would have something they could watch so they didn’t miss out on anything. Soon she had parents say how much they loved these video’s and how their child would watch them over and over again. She noticed that because of this, the students would really know their lessons. Eventually their family moved so her husband suggested instead of starting a new piano studio up from scratch in their new area that she should focus on creating DVD lessons that other teachers and families can use in their studio’s and/or homes. Thus KinderBach was born. In the DVD’s there are 6 levels of lessons and supplemental books that can be purchased.

Now fast forward and keeping up with technology the KinderBach app was born.  The great thing about this app, is teachers can use it as a main course or a supplemental tool for lessons in their studio. The app has 30 lessons (10 lessons per level), 4 videos per lesson with over 150 printable pages, and 6 games. The printable pdf files are activity worksheets for the students. If there is a worksheet that goes along with the video segment you will see a print icon. I use Printopia to print from my iPad to my wireless printer. If you don’t have the capability to print from your iPad, you can purchase the pdf’s online at the KinderBach website.

Whenever the keyboard is needed in the lesson, a keyboard will appear on the screen. However you can easily have the student use the real keyboard on the piano. One thing I noticed when I had some students test this app is during the video lessons they wanted to respond by touching on the screen while the video is playing expecting it to be interactive. The video itself is not interactive, just the games. So this is something that might take some students a little getting used to. To go through all the video’s in a level takes an average of 15-25 min. That is just watching the video’s. If the students do the worksheets then you can add on another 15-20 min depending on the child. I have some students who are very detailed in their coloring and/or activity and need more time and others who go through the activity sheets quickly.

One little hint that I would recommend is before using the video lessons with a student, take the time to download each one. It will take about 20-30 min. to go through each lessons and all the levels, but in the end it is a huge time saver. This way there is no down time (load time) for the video to begin; it will just start automatically. This is especially important if you don’t have internet or wifi available when using the app. As long as the video lessons have been downloaded previously they will work. I tested this when I went to pick up my daughter from school and I didn’t have any wifi.

The first two lessons in level 1 is free to give you a chance to try out KinderBach. If you like it, you can purchase the app by lessons (.99 a lesson), individual levels ($8.99 a level) or what I recommend is purchase the classroom version getting all 3 levels at once ($26.99). Karri did give me a head’s up that they often participate in App Friday events where many developers deeply discount their apps for a day. A good way to stay updated on discounts is to “like” their Facebook page!

To find out more about the KinderBach program I would recommend visiting their website in addition to the KinderBach YouTube Channel. All in all I really think this app is a winner! My students are mesmerized by the characters, songs and activities. I personally would use this app in the 3-6 year old age range, depending on the 6 year old. There isn’t a lot out there when it comes to good quality music apps for our early childhood students so it’s really exciting to see something educational and detailed but also allowing to adapt where needed to fit how you want to use it in your studio.

GREAT NEWS! Karri graciously offered to give one of my lucky readers the classroom version (this is all 3 levels!) of the KinderBach app for free! To enter simply leave a comment in how you can see using this app in your studio before midnight MST on Saturday, November 17th. Good luck!

Added bonus: Karri extended a 30% discount to all my readers for all other products (not good on app) available on the KinderBach website. The KinderBach website 30% discount code:  FOXX2012 .  It expires 01/31/2013. Thank you Karri!

Disclaimer:  I received a free copy of this app in exchange for my honest review. I was not required to write a positive review nor was I compensated in any other way. All opinions I have expressed are my own. 

16 thoughts on “Tech Tuesday: KinderBach App Review and Giveaway!

  1. I’ve shown some students the Kinderbach videos that are available online and they love it. They always remember Dodi lives between the two black keys. I’m sure the app is awesome! Thanks for your review.

  2. I am SO interested in this! I have been searching for better ways to teach my young students. I just purchased an ipad this week. I am excited to be able to use these new materials in my studio. So, this would give me a BIG boost in getting started 🙂

  3. As a certified teacher, I have heard so much about Kinderbach and love the trial part of this app. It would be SO great for both my children as well as my students. I’m always looking for better ways to teach my kiddos! Thanks for the chance.

    • Thanks for posting this Karri! I knew I had forgotten something I wanted to mention. I’ll try to remember to mention it again when I do a follow up announcing the lucky winner. Thanks again for the giveaway! 🙂

  4. This app looks terrific. Pre-schoolers are ready to soak up information and this app seems to be very well designed. I would definitely use it in my studio.

  5. I have many young students who would benefit from using this app as a follow up to my studio classes. In fact I could use it in lessons! I am very excited to discover this. Pam

  6. Pingback: What is it about music? « Foxx Piano Studio Resources

  7. I have a large studio with quite a few 4 and 5 year olds. This looks amazing! I need something like this new and fun to use with the little ones! At 56 years old and teaching 40 years, I am always trying to keep up with new things. Thanks so much!!! Susan

Leave a Reply

