Tech Tuesday: Note Hitter App Review and Giveaway

Note Hitter

Last week I reviewed an app called ScaleHelper developed by Spectral Efficiency, Ltd. This week I wanted to review a sight-reading app they had developed called Note Hitter. As notes move across the screen, the students will use their instrument and play (or sing) the notes before they hit the wall. When you play the correct note, the note will pop. Once you hit the wall, game over. As you improve the game will become more faster and challenging.

Like ScaleHelper, Note Hitter allows you to create more then one profile. (LOVE!) There is a list of almost instruments to choose from, including voice. Voice has the option to sing in Alto, Baritone, Soprano or Tenor. For fun, I decided to try out voice and though it didn’t take me long to hit the wall, it was quite accurate. Under the piano option you can choose the bass clef or treble clef option. I would love to see a grand staff option in the future. The note options include notes up to 3 octaves, with sharps and flats and the ability to change the metronome speed between 40-250. Increasing the tempo allows for an added challenge. Notes can be shown via major arpeggio, major scale and minor scale, blues scale, pentatonic major and pentatonic minor with notes chosen from 6 types of exercise and all tonics.

Note Hitter is a great app that can be used both as a quick sight-reading tool during lessons or a more challenging sight-reading tool to play over and over progressing over time during lab time or home.

Note Hitter is $1.99. There is also a free “lite” version. The lite version however is limited to 1 octave of C major scale or arpeggio at 50 bpm. (Lite is a good way to test the app before buying it)

The developers of Note Hitters are feeling the love this month and have graciously offered to give away a Note Hitter app to one of my blog readers! YAY!!!

So… for 1 entry leave a comment below. For an extra entry share this review on your blog, Facebook or Twitter and leave a separate comment where you shared.

Deadline to get entries in is before midnight MST on Friday, February 15th.  Happy Valentines!

Disclaimer:  I received a free copy of this app in exchange for my honest review. I was not required to write a positive review nor was I compensated in any other way. All opinions I have expressed are my own. 

25 thoughts on “Tech Tuesday: Note Hitter App Review and Giveaway

  1. I am always searching for new ways to challenge my students’ sight-reading abilities and this app sounds like a good one. I look forward to trying it out.

  2. My ipad is used in my studio at almost every lesson..gosh, put something on a screen and kids will learn it. Without the advice I have gotten here I would be lost at sea though. I would certainly love to win this app….

  3. Another great app to try! Honestly, I don’t know what I’d do if someone told me I couldn’t use my iPad or iPhone in lessons anymore. It’s the best tool that I’ve come across in 20+ years of teaching!

  4. Will this be available for Windows soon? It looks like a great app for the studio, and I will tell my iFolks about it, but over half of my studio (including me 🙂 ) is on the Windows side of things. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

